Movie Stuff: Marvelous McAvoy

Since San Diego Comic Con begins this week, let’s all take a moment of silence for the people that can’t attend this year.

…*moment of silence*…

Okay. Besides the usual Game of Thrones panel that I would love to go to, the X-Men: Apocalypse cast AND the Victor Frankenstein cast are having panels as well. What does X-Men: Apocolypse and Victor Frankenstein have in common? THIS GUY:

James McAvoy
James McAvoy

AND, he will be there with Daniel Radcliffe AKA D-rad, AKA Harry Potter, AKA The Boy Who Lived. My childhood! James will be playing the role of Victor Frankenstein in the film while D-rad will be playing Igor. It looks like it will be a dark comedy, but fun! It’s set to be released on November 25th, 2016.

For this post, I’m going to just focus on James and fangirl out a bit because the man is talented and beautiful and if I can’t go to Comic Con this is the next best thing, right? RIGHT?! So, I’m doing the difficult task of narrowing down all of James McAvoy’s movie roles into my favorite top 5. This list is completely subjective (I am not a professional critic) so I would love to hear YOUR favorite McAvoy roles in the comments section!

I will also mark whether McAvoy cries or not in each film because I believe he cries in 90% of his movies. There’s a fun fact for ya. The man can cry.

5. The Last King of Scotland (2006)

This is the film that really gave McAvoy’s career a boost. Based on the true story of Uganda president Ira Amin (played by Forest Whitaker), McAvoy plays a young doctor that becomes the personal physician to Amin. The film can be intense at times and both Whitaker and McAvoy give fantastic performances. It was the first film where you started to see what McAvoy can do. He received a BAFTA nomination for Best Supporting Actor while Whitaker took home the Academy Award and Golden Globe for Best Actor.

Tears: Yes (of the tortured variety)

Bonus: This film takes place in the 70s so McAvoy is sporting a great sideburn haircut and clothes.

lkos

4. Filth (2013)

This film is not an easy watch. McAvoy plays a Edinburgh Detective Sergeant who’s a drunk, a misogynist, a homophobe, fighting a lot of inner demons etc. Bottom line, the dude is a hot mess in this film. For example, there’s a scene where he is watching a home movie of his estranged wife and son, while masturbating, while simultaneously having phone sex with his co-workers wife while pretending to be a game show host. The film is a wild ride that shows McAvoy’s range so it had to make this list. He also takes a child’s balloon and let’s it fly away. My weird sense of humor made this a comedic moment for me…

tumblr_mybqiemL7l1rqph1io2_500

Tears: Yes (of the emotional breakdown variety)

3. X-Men: First Class (2011)

It was really hard to pick between X-Men: First Class and X-Men: Days of Future Past. In X-Men: First Class, Professor X’s role in that movie lent itself for James to be more light hearted and charming. Which, let’s be honest, is one of McAvoy’s best qualities.

tumblr_m1cm99Wzbc1qj40aw

Also, my favorite bromance, Fassavoy (McAvoy + Fassbender), just shines in this film. What is it about Professor X and Magneto that blossoms the best bromances?

tumblr_n70wvq5AU91td81xzo3_500

Tears: Yes (of the “I feel your pain, bro” variety)

2. Starter for 10 (2006)

I’m not sure why, but this pre-Atonement McAvoy film just holds a special place in my heart. Maybe it’s his Essex accent. Maybe it’s his pretty excellent comedic timing in this film. Maybe it’s Charles Dance’s (AKA #1 dad in Westeros Tywin Lannister’s) small role in the buff. Maybe it’s the scene where McAvoy gets high as hell for the first time and eats everything in sight. Maybe it’s Benedict Cumberbatch’s really bad hair.

Doubt it.
Doubt it.

Tears: Yes (of the “reminiscing about my childhood” variety).

1. Atonement (2007)

Did you really think my #1 pick would be anything else? This is one film where I can remember vividly watching it for the first time. I hadn’t read the book so I was going in completely blind. I was home from college on a break and was watching it alone at my dad’s house. MISTAKE. I cried like a hysterical woman. I was completely blindsided. If you’re going to watch this film for the first time, I suggest maybe not watching it alone and if you do, make sure you have a solid phone-a-friend available.

The cinematography in this film is gorgeous. The score is perfect and Keira Knightly and James are play their roles so well that the story just breaks your heart. James was nominated for a Golden Globe for his role. I’m also a sucker for period pieces and since this is set during WWII, it’s kind of my sweet spot. I could write more about how James has never looked better in any other role like hot damn (*cough* library scene *cough). I could swim in your blue eyes.

Tears: ALL THE TEARS BECAUSE EVERYTHING SUCKS.

giphy

Honorable Mention: The Disappearance of Eleanor Rigby (2013). 

There it is. Remember, you can leave your picks in the comments and if you haven’t checked out any of McAvoy’s films, this list is a good place to start!

2 comments

Leave a comment